Senator Say Fees Phds

What does your Senator say about Fees on PhDs?

WRITE TO YOUR SENATOR: The new Budget has the support of the House of Representatives – it will be in the Senate where the final decision is made.  CAPA has written to each member of the new Senate on July 1st, urging them to vote against the introduction of fees for PhDs and Masters by Research, the slashing of the Research Training Scheme, and the introduction of interest rates of up to 6 per cent on existing HECS/HELP debt.  As we receive responses we will update this page. If a Senator in your State or Territory hasn’t responded to CAPA’s letter and you want to help them make up their mind, we encourage you to send them a letter.  All Senators can be reached at the following address: (Name and Title), The Senate, Australian Parliament House, Canberra ACT 2600.

 Name Party State/Territory Do they support CAPA’s campaign for #NoFeesonPhDs?
Senator the Hon Eric Abetz Liberal TAS
Senator Chris Black Liberal WA
Senator Cory Bernardi Liberal SA
Senator Catryna Bilyk ALP TAS YES
Senator the Hon Simon Birmingham Liberal SA
Senator the Hon George Brandis, QC Liberal National QLD
Senator Carol Brown ALP TAS YES*
Senator Joe Bullock ALP WA YES
Senator David Bushby Liberal TAS
Senator the Hon Doug Cameron ALP NSW
Senator Matthew Canavan Liberal National QLD
Senator the Hon Kim Carr ALP VIC YES
Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash Liberal WA
Senator the Hon Richard Colbeck Liberal TAS
Senator the Hon Jacinta Collins ALP VIC YES
Senator the Hon Stephen Conroy ALP VIC YES*
Senator the Hon Mathias Cormann Liberal WA
Senator Sam Dastyari ALP NSW YES
Senator Bob Day Family First SA
Senator Richard Di Natale The Greens VIC
Senator Sean Edwards Liberal SA
Senator the Hon John Faulkner ALP NSW YES*
Senator David Fawcett Liberal SA
Senator Concetta Fierravanti-Wells Liberal NSW
Senator Mitch Fifield Liberal VIC
Senator Alex Gallacher ALP SA YES*
Senator Sarah Hanson-Young The Greens SA Referred the matter to Senator Lee Rhiannon as Higher Ed Spokesperson
Senator the Hon Bill Heffernan Liberal NSW
Senator the Hon David Johnston Liberal WA
Senator Chris Ketter ALP WA YES*
Senator Jacqui Lambie Palmer United TAS YES
Senator Glenn Lazarus Palmer United QLD
Senator David Leyonhjelm Liberal Democratic Party NSW
Senator Sue Lines ALP WA YES
Senator Scott Ludlam The Greens WA YES
Senator the Hon Joe Ludwig ALP QLD YES*
Senator the Hon Joe Ludwig ALP ACT YES*
Senator the Hon Ian McDonald Liberal National QLD
Senator Anne McEwen ALP SA YES
Senator James McGrath Liberal National QLD
Senator Bridget McKenzie National VIC
Senator the Hon Jan McLucas ALP QLD YES
Senator John Madigan Democratic Labour Party VIC
Senator Gavin Marshall ALP VIC YES*
Senator the Hon Brett Mason Liberal QLD
Senator Christine Milne, Leader of the Australian Greens The Greens TAS
Senator Claire Moore ALP QLD YES
Senator Ricky Muir Motoring Enthusiasts VIC
Senator the Hon Fiona Nash The Nationals NSW
Senator Deborah O’Neill ALP NSW YES
Senator Barry O’Sullivan Liberal National QLD
Senator the Hon Marise Payne Liberal NSW
Senator Stephen Parry Liberal TAS
Senator Nova Peris OAM ALP NT YES*
Senator Helen Polley ALP TAS YES*
Senator Linda Reynolds Liberal WA
Senator Lee Rhiannon The Greens NSW YES
Senator Janet Rice The Greens VIC YES
Senator the Hon Michael Ronaldson Liberal VIC
Senator Anne Ruston Liberal SA
Senator the Hon Scott Ryan Liberal VIC
Senator the Hon Nigel Scullion Country Liberal (Nationals) NT
Senator Zed Seselja Liberal ACT
Senator Rachel Siewert The Greens WA
Senator the Hon Lisa Singh ALP TAS YES*
Senator the Hon Arthur Sinodinos AO Liberal NSW
Senator Dean Smith Liberal WA
Senator Glenn Sterle ALP SA YES*
Senator Anne Urquhart ALP SA YES*
Senator Zhenya “Dio” Wang Palmer United Party WA
Senator Larissa Waters The Greens QLD YES
Senator Peter Whish-Wilson The Greens TAS
Senator John Williams Nationals NSW
Senator the Hon Penny Wong ALP SA YES*
Senator Penny Wright The Greens SA
Senator Nick Xenophon Independent SA UNSURE (Has indicated would be happy to receive further information)

* Indicates Senator has not sent a personal pledge but Labor has indicated all Senators will vote against the RTS changes/fees on PhDs.